Menu
The History of the Palace

The Russian Empire

The Russian Empire USSR Russian Federation

Petroff Palace

Historically, the last segment of the way from the Northern Palmyra (Saint-Petersburg) to the first capital city (Moscow) was the only location where Petroff Palace also known as the Access Palace could be built. Monarchs and noblemen needed some place to stay at the end of a tedious journey, to have some rest and to make themselves look smart and presentable for ceremonial arrival in Moscow with much fanfare.

Today it is situated in the district of Airport on Leningradskiy Highway, in the vicinity of the notorious Khodynka field, directly associated with the palace. More on this to follow.

The palaces beautiful, but unusual building is classified by some experts as Romantic Neogothic. Others believe it to be an example of architectural eclecticism. True, its styles and details are fancifully and eclectically intertwined creating unique forms and delighting the eye with their dissimilarity from any other building of this kind in the world.

Lets take a short historical journey to understand the origins and life of this building that is now not only an 18th century architectural monument, but also an important administrative and business site with the functions of the Reception House of the Moscow Mayors Office, a VIP hotel and a tourist stronghold of the capital city.

Petroff Palace

Background

As early as the end of the 16th century, a wide road passed through the settlement of Tverskaya-Yamskaya connecting Moscow with such trading centers as the cities of Pskov, Tver and Novgorod the Great. This settlement was a terminal station for a great number of yamschiks, or coachmen, who ensured transport services on the main trade route.

Being aware of the needs of travelers regularly coming to Moscow and benefit making opportunities, entrepreneurial-minded owners started to arrange the first travel guest houses mushrooming in the vicinity of Vsekhvyatskoye village (presently the district of Sokol).

Foreign ambassadors set up their residencies in the Khodynka field where they could stay in comfort waiting for a high monarchical audience in close proximity to the Kremlin.

This courtyard witnessed many noble persons at various times. In the 17th century, Prince Gustav stayed here, when he came from Sweden to marry Xenia Godunova. In the dark Time of Troubles, regiments of Shuiskiy confronting False Dmitry II lodged here, followed by the impostor himself before he escaped. A legend about a treasure buried by him there is still alive.

At the end of the 17th century, the lands of the neighboring Vysokopetrovskiy monastery that had existed here since ages ago (was mentioned in chronicles of 1492) were devastated in the Time of Troubles and came into possession of Prince Nikita Baryatinskiy. Gradually they transformed into a tiny village of Petrovskoye with 30 inhabitants, three houses and a cattle yard. A surviving inventory of the estate includes description of a fine monastery garden that also passed to the new owner and a good quality house chambers on a stone foundation. As a special sign of prosperity, Dutch tiled stoves are mentioned.

The administrative and commercial prospects of the horse-drawn route that passed through these lands were duly appreciated by Peter the Great, who in 1722 turned it into a civilized Petersburg road that subsequently connected the new capital city, Saint Petersburg, with Moscow.

The Palace is built

The Russian-Turkish war that started in 1768 was, according to various sources, the fifth or sixth conflict between Russia and the Ottoman Empire, and ended in 1774 with a convincing victory of the Russians and the signing of the Treaty of Küçük Kaynarca. Under that treaty, Russia received protectorate over the Crimea, several key cities with a great military value including Crimeas Kerch and Enikale, and the long-wished-for access to the Black Sea with a full-fledged right of rule there.

The enthroned Catherine the Great decided to celebrate this outstanding victory with magnitude and splendor characteristic of her reign.

Especially for these festivities, architect Vasiliy Bazhenov built by Royal decree a whole wooden mock town representing the fortresses seized by the Russian soldiers in the battle. The oriental exotica never seen before at the court with various fancies in the Turkish style made a strong impression on the Empress inquiring and energetic mind. An idea sank into her heart to build a landmark en route palace in the same style.

The mother czarina was always as good as her words.

As early as 1775, Bazhenovs best apprentice, Matvey Kazakov, was assigned the construction of chambers for temporary recreation of the top state officials and their immediate entourage. But bear in mind, though I am Orthodox, my origins are German... This note at the end of the Royal order became a guideline for Kazakov. It is no wonder that German Gothic elements can be seen in Petroff Palace.

Matvey Kazakov (1738 1812) was a Russian Neoclassical architect. Kazakov was one of the most influential Muscovite architects during the reign of Catherine II, completing numerous private residences, two royal palaces, two hospitals, Moscow University, and the Kremlin Senate.

Matvey Kazakov

It took Kazakov only three years to brilliantly translate Catherines idea into reality. The last finishing works were completed by 1782. According to contemporaries, each detail of the en route palace testified to the victory and greatness of the Russian Empire. The building was nicknamed a daytime illumination because of its unusual bright forms. The architect mixed fancifully austere classicism, joyful Baroque and airy Gothic art. The palace was decorated with two towered wings in the then-fashionable Gothic and Moorish style. As a contemporary put it, it was a splendid Moorish architecture building adapted to European ways.

Kazakov chose a harmonious and precise location for the castle on the vast plot of land provided for its construction and skillfully arranged an effective composition based on red bricks and white stones. Contemporary research shows that the palace was originally painted in pink, golden, red and white colors. Its dome was covered with white Italian tin and the roof was topped with red tiles.

       -

Catherine the Great wanted the 16-meter dome to resemble the dome of Hagia Sofia in Constantinople. The Empress saw some sacral significance in this resemblance. The genius architect, who enjoyed her particular benevolence, did his best to please her. Petroff Palace became a dream come true of the Russian czarina with German origins. The splendid palace park subsequently became a favorite place for promenade of old Moscow nobility.

It was only in 1787 that the Empress, being the inspirer of construction of the palace and its hostess, found an opportunity to visit it, according to an entry in her diary. It is also known that Catherine the Great decided to stay in her residence alone protected by her people and ordered off not only her numerous entourage, but her security officers as well. That decision was highly reckless, as it caused an inflow of onlookers and nearly resulted in trampling. It was remembered later during the bloody events on the Khodynka field. More about it is still to follow.

This is how a monarchial tradition was born

In 1797, Paul, a son of Catherine the Great, stayed in the palace on the way from Petersburg to his coronation ceremony in Moscow. This fact is noteworthy because it launched a tradition: from then on, all Russian emperors spent there the night before coronation. The walls of the ancient palace seem to retain the memories of monarchial aspirations and tribulations on the eve of ascension to Russias throne.

The greatest splendor marked the enthronement of Alexander II, when the Crown of the Russian Empire was put on his head in 1856. He also prepared himself for this official ceremony under the roof of Petroff Palace.

Time of trouble

The legendary palace also hosted some uninvited guests. Thus, during the Patriotic War of 1812, Napoleon Bonaparte kept his headquarters there for several days watching Moscow in flames. After the French fled, the devastated castle stood charred with its dome collapsed for a long time.

Restoration of Petroff Palace started only during the reign of Nicholas I. The development of its project was entrusted to architect Auguste de Montferrand, who built Saint Isaac's Cathedral in Petersburg. The Emperor himself had received an engineering and technical education and had a knack for architecture. He personally guided the restoration process strictly in line with Matvey Kazakovs original concept. In 1827, the monarch approved a park building plan for the territory around the palace that included curvilinear English park walks, ponds and bathhouses followed later by coffee shops, souvenir and food stalls, and even a small zoo. Very soon the park became a favorite place for promenade of Moscows upper class. A theater was built there, and some luxurious restaurants were opened in the years that followed. Thus Petroff Palace found itself in the center of Moscows cultural and social life.

Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin

Here stands, with shady park surrounded,
Petrovsky Castle; and the fame
in which so lately it abounded
rings proudly in that sombre name.
Napoleon here, intoxicated
with recent fortune, vainly waited
till Moscow, meekly on its knees,
gave up the ancient Kremlin-keys:
but no, my Moscow never stumbled
nor crawled in suppliant attire.
No feast, no welcome-gifts - with fire
the impatient conqueror was humbled!.
From here, deep-sunk in pensive woe,
he gazed out on the threatening glow.

Khodynka field

The events of 18 (30) May 1896 were destined to become the most tragic page in the palaces history.

Khodynka field had traditionally been used as a venue of various activities, parades and military inspections. Official celebrations were also organized on that day to mark the ascension to the throne of Emperor Nicholas II.

The festivities ended in a bloody tragedy with crowds of people caught in mass trampling. Almost 1,400 people died, some 900 were injured. A bad omen marred the Emperors enthronement. It was often recalled in association with the tragic fate of the last Russian tsar and his family.


Your request has been submitted!

Меню
История Дворца

Российская Империя

Российская Империя СССР Российская Федерация

Петровский Путевой Дворец

Петровский путевой дворец - его еще иначе именуют Подъездным - исторически не мог возникнуть в другом месте, как только на последнем этапе пути от Северной Пальмиры (Санкт-Петербурга) в первопрестольную. Монархам и вельможам, совершившим непростой для того времени переезд, следовало передохнуть, привести себя в парадный вид для торжественного въезда в Москву со всей помпой.

Сегодня это - район Аэропорта, на Ленинградском шоссе, поблизости от печально-знаменитой Ходынки, имеющей к дворцу непосредственное отношение. Но об этом позже.

Красивое, но необычное здание дворца кто-то относит к стилю романтической неоготики, кто-то считает образцом "архитектурной эклектики". Смешение стилей и деталей в нем действительно причудливо и эклектично переплетается, создавая уникальные формы и радуя глаз своей непохожестью ни на одно подобное сооружение в мире.

Давайте сделаем небольшой исторический экскурс, чтобы понять истоки и жизнь этого здания, сегодня ставшее не только памятником архитектуры XVIII века, но и играющего значительную административно-хозяйственную роль в качестве Дома приемов Московской мэрии, отеля VIP-уровня и туристической Мекки столицы.

Петровский Путевой Дворец в Царское Время - иллюстрация

Предыстория

Еще в конце XVI века здесь, в Тверской-Ямской слободе, проходил широкий тракт, соединявший Москву с такими центрами торговли, как Псков, Тверь или Великий Новгород. Как следует из названия, слобода была местом дислокации (выражаясь современным языком) многочисленного "цеха" ямщиков, обеспечивавших транспортное сообщение на главной торговой магистрали.

Понимая потребности путешественников, то и дело прибывавших в Москву, и свою выгоду, предприимчивые хозяева стали сооружать первые путевые дома. Как грибы, стали они появляться в районе села Всехсвятского (нынешний район Сокол).

На Ходынском поле обосновали свою резиденцию иноземные послы, чтобы в комфорте и непосредственной близости от Кремля ожидать высокой монаршей аудиенции.

Этот двор в разные времена видал многих сиятельных и вельможных особ. В XVII столетии останавливался здесь принц Густав, когда прибыл из Швеции для женитьбы на Ксении Годуновой. В темный период смуты квартировали полки Шуйского, вышедшие на Лжедимитрия II, а после и сам супостат провел здесь последние дни перед тем как сбежать. Легенда о зарытом им кладе поныне витает в этих местах.

В конце XVII века земли окрестного Высокопетровского монастыря, существовавшего здесь с незапамятного времени (упоминаются в летописи 1492 года), были разорены Смутой, и перешли в княжеское владение Никиты Барятинского. Постепенно они трансформировались в мизерное село Петровское о 30-ти жителях в трех избах да скотном дворе. Сохранившаяся опись имения упоминает о великолепном монастырском саде, также перешедшем к новому владельцу, и добротном доме - "хоромах на каменном фундаменте". Как особый признак зажиточности, упоминаются печи "изразцовые галанские".

Административную и негоцианскую перспективность пролегающего через эти земли конного пути по достоинству оценил Петр I, превратив его с 1722 года в цивилизованный Петербургский тракт, соединивший впоследствии новую столицу - Санкт-Петербург - с Москвой.

Дворец построен

Русско-турецкая война, начатая в 1768 году, по разным источникам пятая или шестая в перечне конфликтов России с Османской империей, в 1774 году закончилась убедительной победой русских и подписанием Кючук-Кайнарджийского договора. По его условиям Россия получила протекторат над Крымом, несколько ключевых в военном отношении городов, включая крымские Керчь и Еникале, и долгожданный выход в Черное море с полноправным владычеством в нем.

Такую значительную победу царствующая Екатерина II Великая решила отметить с присущим ее правлению размахом и пышностью.

Для празднества архитектор Василий Баженов по высочайшему повелению выстроил целый "потешный город" из дерева, изображавший крепости, которые русским солдатам покорились в ходе баталии. Невиданная доселе при дворе экзотика Востока «на турецкий лад с разными вычурасами» оказали сильное впечатление на пытливый и энергичный ум императрицы. Ей запала в голову идея в таком же стиле выстроить капитальный путевой дворец.

Слова "матушки" редко расходились с делом.

Уже в 1775 году лучшему ученику Баженова - Матвею Казакову - поручено строить хоромы для временного отдыха первых лиц государства и особ, к ним приближенных. «Но, помни, я ведь хоть и православная буду, однако родом все же из немок...» - эта приписка в конце указа стала для Казакова руководством к действию. Недаром специалисты находят в Петровском дворце элементы немецкой готики.

Матвей Фёдорович Казаков (1738—1812) — русский архитектор, который в годы правления Екатерины II перестроил центр Москвы в палладианском стиле. Один из крупнейших представителей русской псевдоготики. Разработчик проектов типовой застройки.

Матвей Фёдорович Казаков

Всего за три года Казаков блестяще воплотил замысел Екатерины, а к 1782 году были завершены последние отделочные работы. По воспоминаниям современников, каждая деталь путевого дворца говорила о победе и величии Российской империи. Его называли «дневной иллюминацией», настолько ярки и необычны были формы здания. Архитектор причудливо смешал строгий классицизм, праздничное барокко и воздушную готику. Дворец украшали два флигеля с башнями в модном тогда готическо-мавританском стиле. По словам современника, это было "прекрасное здание мавританской архитектуры, переделанной на европейские нравы".

Казаков гармонично и точно расположил замок на отведенной под него обширной территории и мастерски сложил эффектную композицию, в основе которой красный кирпич и белый камень. Современные исследования говорят о том, что первоначальная окраска дворца сочетала в себе розовые, золотые, красные и белые оттенки. Купол здания покрыли итальянской белой жестью, а кровлю - красной черепицей.

Катания на санях вблизи Петровского Путевого Дворца - иллюстрация

Екатерине II хотелось, чтобы шестнадцатиметровый купол дворца напоминал купола константинопольского Софийского собора. В этом сходстве императрица видела некий сакральный смысл. И пользующийся особым благоволением государыни гениальный архитектор, конечно, постарался ей угодить. Петровский дворец стал воплощением мечты русской царицы «из немок». Великолепный дворцовый парк стал впоследствии излюбленным местом для прогулок старомосковской аристократии.

Вдохновительница строительства и хозяйка дворца, императрица, судя по свидетельству в ее собственном дневнике, только в 1787 году нашла возможность посетить его. Известно также, что пребывание в его стенах побудило Екатерину II остаться в резиденции в одиночестве, «под охраной своего народа», отослав не только многочисленную свиту, но и охрану. Такое решение было весьма опрометчивым, поскольку вызвало стечение зевак к стенам дворца и едва не привело к давке. Об этом вспоминали позднее, во время кровавых событий Ходынки, о чем мы еще поговорим.

Так родилась монархическая традиция...

В 1797 году на пути из Петербурга на коронацию в Москве во дворце остановился Павел, сын Екатерины Великой. Этот факт примечателен тем, что положил начало традиции: отныне все российские императоры останавливались здесь в ночь перед коронацией. Стены древнего дворца словно хранят воспоминания о чаяниях и треволнениях монархов перед воцарением на российском престоле.

Наибольшей пышностью отметил свое восшествие на престол Александр II, чье чело Корона Российской Империи увенчала в 1856 году. Он также готовился к таинству под сводами Путевого дворца.

Дни лихолетья

Легендарный дворец принимал у себя и незваных гостей. Так, во время Отечественной войны 1812 года Наполеон Бонапарт в течение нескольких дней держал в Петровском свою ставку и наблюдал оттуда за горящей Москвой. После бегства французов разоренный замок долгое время стоял обугленный и с провалившимся куполом.

Реставрация Петровского дворца началась только при Николае I. Проект восстановления поручили разработать архитектору Огюсту Монферрану, который возводил Исаакиевский собор в Петербурге. Император сам имел инженерно-техническое образование и прекрасно разбирался в архитектуре. Он лично руководил восстановлением дворца и внимательно следил за тем, чтобы реставрация ни в чем не противоречила первоначальному замыслу Матвея Казакова. В 1827 году государь утвердил план обустройства парка вокруг дворца. Были проложены криволинейные английские дорожки, вырыты пруды, организованы купальни. Затем были открыты кофейни, сувенирные и продуктовые палатки и даже небольшой зверинец. Очень скоро парк превратился в излюбленное место гуляний высшей московской аристократии. Там был построен театр, позднее открыты несколько роскошных ресторанов. Так Петровский дворец оказался в центре культурной и светской жизни Москвы.

Александр Сергеевич пушкин

Вот, окружён своей дубравой,
Петровский замок. Мрачно он
Недавнею гордится славой.
Напрасно ждал Наполеон,
Последним счастьем упоённый,
Москвы коленопреклонённой
С ключами старого Кремля:
Нет, не пошла Москва моя
К нему с повинной головою.
Не праздник, не приёмный дар,
Она готовила пожар
Нетерпеливому герою.
Отселе, в думу погружён,
Глядел на грозный пламень он.

Ходынка

Событиям 18 (30) мая 1896 суждено было стать самой трагичной страницей в летописи дворца.

Здесь, на Ходынском поле, и ранее проходили всевозможные мероприятия, парады и военные смотры. Были устроены торжества и в тот день. Они должны были ознаменовать восхождение на престол императора Николая II.

Праздник завершился кровавой трагедией. В неудержимом желании участвовать в празднестве, толпа людей создала массовую давку.

Жертвами стали 2279 человек, из которых 9 сотен покалечились, остальные погибли. Дурное предзнаменование тенью легло на восшествие императора на престол, о нем не раз вспоминали, связывая с трагической судьбой последнего в истории России государя и его семьи.


Ваша заявка отправлена!